Washington Daily Press
Washington Local News, Breaking News, Sports & Business.

Washington’s mayor on listing of potential candidates for vacant State Senate seat – 25 Information Now

PEORIA (25 Information Now) – Republican Occasion chairs for 13 space counties are releasing particulars how they are going to fill the Illinois State Senate seat vacated by Bloomington’s Jason Barickman, and a few acquainted names in Central Illinois politics are apparently excited by changing him for a two-year time period.

Barickman formally resigned Wednesday from the seat he was simply elected to the brand new 53rd District, and Washington Mayor Gary Manier informed 25 Information Friday night he’s leaning towards making use of for the publish.

“Proper now, I’m a sure,” stated Mayor Manier in a textual content.

Washington Mayor Gary Manier
Washington Mayor Gary Manier(25 Information Now)

State Rep. Tom Bennett of Gibson Metropolis can be anticipated to use. Different names being talked about for the seat are Regular City Council member Stan Nord, and Mike Kirkton of Gridley who misplaced to Dennis Tipsord in a four-way main race for state consultant within the new a hundred and fifth Home District.

Longtime State Rep. Dan Brady of Bloomington shouldn’t be eligible for the Senate seat as a result of he doesn’t dwell within the district.

Additionally talked about as a potential candidate is Regular City Council member Scott Preston, who misplaced his November normal election race to Sharon Chung for state consultant within the new 91st Home District. Nevertheless, Preston reportedly stated he wouldn’t apply if Bennett sought the Senate seat.

Functions for the Senate seat are due Jan. 5.

A gathering of the 13 county chairs is scheduled Saturday, Jan. 7 at 10 a.m. on the Elks Lodge in Pontiac. Candidates shall be interviewed on the assembly, which shall be open to the general public. Simply 4 days later, the brand new Common Meeting shall be sworn into workplace at

The GOP chairs making the appointment are Chuck Weaver of Peoria County, Dennis Grundler of McLean County, Jim Rule of Tazewell County, Tim Ruestman of Woodford County, Dave Rice of Livingston County, Dave Lueders of Marshall County, Jacob Frund of Putnam County, Barry Welbers of Bureau County, Larry Smith of LaSalle County, Jeff Orr of Ford County, Eric Werden of Grundy County, Tim Ozinga of Will County and Lyle Behrends of Iroquois County.

Comments are closed.